Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples

There are many debates nowadays whether keeping pets in a household could bring benefits or drawbacks to children. In this short essay, I shall present the advantage and disadvantage and offer arguments on keeping pets would endanger children’s well-being are an over-emphasis constitution.

There are a variety of pets, these includes exotic and small animals. In no doubt, exotic animals such as snakes and reptile pets, would pose danger to children as they could not be tamed. Here, I would focus more on animals such as dogs, cats, rodents and rabbits as pets. Unlike human, the level of cleanliness maintained by pets could not be comparable. Negligence of owner providing preventive measure on pests and parasites is one of the key factors causing sickness in children. Rodents and rabbits could also harm children. There have been many newspaper articles discussing children bit by rodents and deadly diseases transferred to the children causing their death. However, I strongly believe all these could be avoided with a well responsible parent owner. There has been no research conducted to show having pets could present any physical danger to children.

In contrast, studies’ results demonstrated having pets in the household can have positive impact to children psychology. Children living in a household with pets have been known to be friendlier, caring, healthy and independent. This is because young pet owners would aid their parents with range of actions to maintain the pet’s well-being (e.g. walking the dog and grooming). Further, pets keep their young pet owners companion. Hospital, nowadays, has pet-doctors to help with curing children with adverse disease. Consequently, it is undeniable that pets could improve children’s social behaviour.

In conclusion, I believe the benefits of keeping pets would outrage the disadvantages. However, laws should be introduced to restrict the ownership of exotic animals to reduce danger poses on children.