Employers should focus on personal qualities over qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has always been a controversial topic as to whether characteristics are more important than the level of education they received when seeking a new role. In this short essay, I will discuss my point of view on this matter.

Depending on the job profile, qualification is vital in compare to personal qualities. As an example, professional such as doctors require to be highly educated to perform a consultation and evaluate the best medication to cure a patient. Their individual distinctive will be a supplementing factor when the general public is defining a good doctor. Therefore, for professionals, employers may focus on education level rather than character. However, with more students gaining higher educations and certifications, it has become challenging for a company to pursue the best people based on skillsets.

Company culture has become increasingly important for the success of a corporation. Employees with an understanding of the vision and culture of the company, and having the aligned personal qualities will look to grow with the company. Understanding individual applicants’ characteristic provides an initial view on whether he or she will fit into the team environment and assess the suitability. As an example, a number of leading global consultancy firms requires candidates to conduct an online self-characteristic assessment prior to earning an interview opportunity.

Although qualification has always been a key factor for employers to hire a new starter, ones’ personal values would also be judged to allow the hirer to evaluate a candidate. Different job profiles also require a dissimilar method to appraise an applicant, I would believe both personal qualities and qualifications are equally imperative to a manager.