Employers should focus on personal qualities over qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The recruiters should consider personal characteristics rather than the degree and work experience while choosing a potential candidate for a job. I do not agree with this school of thought because these criteria determines the educational level of the candidate and they tend to look for employees who can make profit for the company.

Every job has a set of criteria relating to educational qualification and experience. This is why employers do not consider the curriculum vitae of people who do not meet those set of criteria. These requirements are necessary because it determines the qualification level of the person involved which serves as a benchmark that they are fit for the job or not. For instance, Consultancy Services Ltd do not consider to hire people who do not have a B.Tech degree in Computer Science, Electronics or Instrumentation engineering.

Every employer is profit-driven and that is the reason they seek candidates with appropriate educational background and years of experience. Companies do not prefer training employees with niche skills from the scratch because that requires a lot of investment, time and also due to ever-changing technology periodically. If they hire someone with a suitable degree and previous experience of the required skill, that will be cheaper, convenient and faster for them. For example, recent survey conducted by Naukri.com on ten-thousand employers shows that the demand for experienced employees are 10 times more than the freshers.

In conclusion, qualification and experience determines whether the candidate is befit for the job and can generate revenue for the company, rather than incurring any loss and this is why I disagree with the notion.