Employers should focus on personal qualities over qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Employment of the right worker is a ubiquitous issue, which has resulted in the following two arguments. While some assert that qualification is pivotal for the most contemporary jobs, opponents criticise this advocating that soft skills have more positive outcomes for their companies. Thus, it is suggested that the human resources department should give preference to the hard skills and experience while recruiting a new employee. This standpoint seems to be valid for the following reinforced reasons.

The prime assertion to consider is that it is essential for an employer to be confident in the hard skills of the employee. Logically, the conventional approach of checking employees profile via their resumes or LinkedIn, qualifications issued by authorised bodies is vital. Were a company to hire a worker with a decent degree and sufficient experience, skills training might not be required to be carried out and might have a favourable outcome on budget. From this illustration, it is evident that background is pivotal for an employer because only a skilled person can play a vital role in organisation success.

Analogously, an educational background shows that a candidate also has soft skills. To accomplish a university degree, for example, a student should meet deadlines and complete tasks, which require to have outstanding personal qualities such as motivation, critical thinking, problem-solving. Similarly, an obtained degree enhanced by experience gives confidence to the employer that a candidate has exploited his knowledge and developed soft skills in the other positions. It is, thus, comprehendible that not only do candidate has a qualification and experience but also confirms his soft skills.

Objectors, however, assume that those with strong personal skills can communicate ideas clearly and listen well to others. They also exude a positive attitude at work, which is key to any healthy company culture. Albeit this, as mentioned above the candidates with qualification and experience also have a sufficient level of personal qualities.

Having justified the core reasons of choosing a qualified and experienced employee, it has to be reaffirmed that employers aim is to enhance their teams with qualified and experienced employees thereby making sure that they are able to effect positive outcomes for their companies.