Many people, the world over, are confused whether students should be given homework or not. The persons in favor of it believe that homework is vital for a student’s success, while the others believe they must devote their time after school doing recreational activities. This essay will examine both views, before drawing a conclusion in favor of the former belief.

On one hand, those who are in favor of homework believe that it teaches students the skill of time management. To exemplify, the student has to manage time between studies and homework, and thus learning the meaning and importance of accountability, therefore this skill will be vital to them during their employment. Moreover, homework helps in improving grades and promotes better retention of information being taught at school. Consequently, it helps in inculcating good habits among children.

On the other hand, some people believe that children are left with no time to enjoy and relax. This makes them stressed and hampers healthy mental growth. For instance, they are continuously being burdened with homework and which erodes their precious time of doing recreational activities. Therefore, they are living a sedentary lifestyle with the least physical activity. This can have deleterious effects on their health. To cite an example, it has been found during research that the problem like obesity is more prevalent among young children. Secondly, children through sports interact with other children, thereby promoting social mingling. For instance, socially active children are found to be more creative and psychologically more active as compared to their peers.

A close analysis of the matter leads to a conclusion that, apart from studies, games also plays an indispensable in student’s life. A right balance between both is required for balanced growth of a child and it the student who has to learn to prioritize the tasks allocated to him.