Some people think that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school while others think children should begin in secondary school.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

With globalization, the world has turned into a global village, where people all over the world work together to earn their livelihood. Some people argue that children should be taught a foreign language at an early age during primary education, while the others not in favor of this notion believe that foreign language should be imparted during secondary schooling. This essay will analyze both views before concluding in favor of the former idea.

On one hand, learning a second language during primary school days gives students an ample amount of time to children to learn. For instance, a recent research has shown that bilingual children perform better than their mono-lingual counterparts and are psychologically more active. Moreover, being bilingual opens the doors to better career prospects for students and they achieve success and prosperity much earlier in their career span. To cite an example, learning a foreign language opens the doors to innovation and development. Students around the globe can world on common projects by sharing their ideas, thereby boosting creative and imaginative skills at a much earlier age. Consequently, they can work together towards a problem to achieve a desired goal.

On the other hand, some people against this assertion believe it will over burden students at a very early age. They believe during primary school more time should be devoted to recreational activities. To exemplify, as the primary school is the growing age and study stress during this age can have deleterious effects on their health. Therefore, being monolingual seems to be a better solution for these people.

A close analysis of the matter leads to a conclusion that, the advantages of learning a foreign language at primary school outweighs its disadvantages. It can open the doors to economic growth and success not only for children but also for nations. Consequently, the parents can expect better future prosperity of their offspring’s.