All education (primary, secondary and further education) should be free to all people and paid and managed by the government.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Education opens the doors of growth and prosperity for an individual. Some people argue that education should be made free of cost for all the people of the society irrespective of their economic backgrounds. As per my perspective, I am against this assertion and believe that the education should be made free for weaker sections only.

The first argument in support of my opinion is it will help in achieving better literacy rates among the backward classes; consequently, leading to their economic upliftment and providing them better standard of living. For instance, many people in poor and developing countries cannot afford education because they barely support their livelihood. Therefore, government can allocate money accumulated through taxes to give free education to them and which can help in relieving them from the clutches of poverty.

The second explanation in favor is it can help in the growth and prosperity of the nation. To cite an example, the growth of a country in measured in terms of economic background of people, their standard of living and the literacy rate. Through educating poor people the government can easily achieve these desired goals. Moreover, education can help government to inculcate healthier lifestyle by mitigating the deleterious effects of communicable diseases spread because of unhygienic environment maintained among these people.

Lastly, the problem of population explosion can only be dealt with promoting education among financially weak people. For example, it has been found that the success rate of population control is more in educated societies as compared to uneducated ones.

To put it in a nutshell, education is of utmost importance and is the right of every individual, but the government should only provide aid to those people who cannot afford it and thus reducing their financial burden as well.