Some people believe that successful sports teams are always those with the strongest or fittest players Others think that success depends more on the team s mental strength Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is an argument about whether mental strength or physical strength is more important. While the power of spirit occupies a certain position in sport, I would argue that both of them play the same importance.

On the one hand, to succeed in the athletic field, firstly, athletes need a strong body. As simple as, they are already exhausted when the match just starts for a half, how can they win in that situation? In all the games we have seen, it’s also clear that people who are more physically fit will easily have more advantages than the smaller ones. For instance, in a basketball match, we can see that the taller guys can easily throw the ball into the basket with just a backstroke, while the shorter ones can meet it more difficult when they just can stand under the basket and throw with the higher risk ratio. Moreover, throwing the ball from a long distance offers strong hand strength, which is not possible with weak people.

However, people can’t win the match with just the advantages of their body. Mental strength is the most important factor during the practice, because if they lose their will, they won’t be able to reach any further. Even when they in the real match, whenever they almost worn out, their determination will wake them up. Many top sports player such as Christiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi have to prepare the strong determine to face up with all the pressure and difficulty they will meet on the field. And mental strength played an important part into the successful they are today.

In conclusion, sports players have to face both physical and mental difficulties on the field. So it is essential to build for them the physical fit and mentally resilient in the start.