Some people believe that successful sports teams are always those with the strongest or fittest players. Others think that success depends more on the team’s mental strength. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is ongoing debate over the importance of physical health in the field of sports. A section of society considers that sport personalities should be physically fit to achieve success in the sports competitions. However, others reckon that being mentally stable during the sports events is more advantageous to gain victory. This essay will shed light on both the viewpoints and render my opinion about the importance of both the factors.

To begin with, there are several key elements that contribute in achieving prosperity. First and foremost, sports players invest majority of their time in the gym so that they can build stamina and endurance. This helps then to stay on the fields for a longer duration. For example, in sports like cricket, trainers groom the players with appropriate diet and strength training exercises. Which helps them to do wonders on the cricket field. Moreover, in sports like basketball, the candidates are selected based upon his height. They are expected to be taller and stronger in terms of physical appearances. In most popular NBA, all the players are six feet taller, which enable them to win against their competition. Thus, having well-built body acts as a catalyst.

Nevertheless, mental balance is as important as the physical health. Just focusing on physical abilities would not gain success. The players need to be mentally fit before any tournaments. In other words, sport personalities need to work on their mental and strategic attitudes in order to win the championship. For instance, snooker game requires tremendous concertation and focus, players often dedicate for hours before the competition. Furthermore, chess players do not need to be physically fit, as they do not have to showcase their strength, all they need is the mental balance during the contest. Therefore, being mentally fit will take the performance a notch higher.

In summary, I believe that, both the physical and the mental ability play a significance role for the contestants because, one petite weakness maybe utilised by the opponent team.