Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.

Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It has been a subject of controversy the impact education received at home or school had on children’s growth. While some believe that home based learning provides a safe environment and opportunities for family bonding, schools, in turn prepare children to face the grim realities of life and inculcate values. Ultimately, I believe that schools offer better learning experience than being tutored at home.

Home-schooling fosters familial love, care and protection. Being educated at home has its allowances like a nonthreatening environment from bullying, bad company and other malpractices like cheating and stealing. In addition to that, the child is not intimidated and has no added pressure but can silently work towards its own goal. For instance, Madame Curie, the woman who invented ‘Radium’ was home-schooled. The only catch was that she was a social introvert.

On the other hand, receiving a formal education has its own perks. Regular classroom teaching equips the young minds to face challenges and develop coping mechanisms. It also fosters in them virtues like sharing, caring, team spirit, gratitude and unity. For example, A recent survey revealed that 96% of the students who were formally educated were psychological sound when compared to 36% of their counterparts who received customized education at home.

In conclusion, despite the comfort and the warmth of a secure environment at home, developing into a physically, mentally and emotionally sound individual is possible only when one is educated in an institution. I concur this is the safest and the best way for individuals to stand out in the years to come.