Some people believe that there is a reduction in air travel in the future. Do you think this trend as positive or negative development?

One of the major break-through of science and technology was invention of aero-planes. There is no doubt that in correct circumstances this is a valuable tool. However, if used excessively, It become dangerous weapon and detrimental to both environment and society.

Technology has changed every aspect of our life and travel is no exception. We can cover miles of area in nick of time, which used to take month in ancient times through horses, mules and camels. Firstly, this advancement along with recent reduction of fares has boost tourism industry, on which economy of several countries depends. Increase of economic condition has changed the living standard of people tremendously. Secondly, executives could travel anywhere in the world in the nick of the time to form business deals and exporting and importing products and services flourishes international business. The world has become global village. You can get quality product from any other region at competitive price.

On the other hand, population is increasing drastically from last century and industrialization has resulted in deforestation and increased use of fossil fuels. these has threatened our environment by killing marine creatures and extinction of various animals. World is steadily leading to global warming. Air flights use excessive amount of fuel and cause of noise and air pollution and oil spills. Reduction of air travel can prove to be a marvelous step towards saving the planet and its inhabitants. However, as this means of travel is extremely expensive and only rich people could afford it, reduction would have minimal effect on the environment.

In conclusion, air travel is a luxury for affluent community as well as essential for the economy. I believe we should use it considerably to boost economic condition, but on the other hand reduce air travel within countries and try to use other means where it is possible.