Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

To keep the fabric of society in order, a strict punitive framework should be applied to maintain social and civil justice. Even though offering some benefits overall, fixed punishment for each crime casts some doubts in the judicial system. In this essay, I will discuss the merits both against and for this highly debated subject.

Fixed penalty has the advantage that it can lead to a decline in serious crimes such as murders or treason. If found guilty in these cases, perpetrators would be sentenced severely regardless of surrounding contexts. Therefore, criminals would certainly think twice before committing these offences. Furthermore, this type of sentencing possibly put a stop to unjust law practicing where an unjust judge holds ultimate power to decide the outcomes of trials. Another advantage of this punitive system is its apparent efficiency in execution whereas an outcome of each crime has been decided beforehand and the judge only needs to announce the verdict accordingly.

On the other side of the argument, human behaviors are strictly attached to circumstances and crimes are no exceptions. Trials’ outcomes, thereupon, should take surrounding contexts into consideration. For example, in two murder cases; while in former crime, the murderer deliberately planned out and in the latter, the offender committed the act accidentally out of defence. With a fixed penalty guideline, those two offences will be trialed and receive the same verdict. This demonstrated a serious flaw in the legal system that fails to protect its people. Hence, it is crucial for judges to consider specific circumstances of each crime before deciding its outcome.

To sum up, there are some merits from both sides of the argument. Mandatory sentencing might be efficient and superior in certain cases. However, a just verdict can only be reached when a judge considers all circumstances surrounding a crime.