Some people believe that unpaid community service be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children)To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Community service enables students to acquire life skills and knowledge, as well as provide a service to those who need it most. It has been a debatable issue if unpaid volunteerism should be added to curriculum of pupils. This essay will discuss why this type of services should not be included in the high school study.

Certain people opine that these free services should be involved in class schedule of their wards. The major reason behind it is that they believe such activity is very much helpful in developing an increased sense of local responsibility- a global view of a society and a heart for 'giving back' and 'helping others'. For instance, a survey conducted by World Education Society in United States in 2017 yielded a result that students participating in free voluntary work were found to be more interested in helping the deserved folks. In addition, these are helpful in improving lifelong communication, interpersonal and critical thinking skills. Thus, addition of such campaigns can be proven to be beneficial to the children.

However, I believe that if it has pros, it has cons too. Predominantly, these kinds of aids divert the concentration of pupils from their studies. Since these activities needs a lot of time, students will not get proper time to devote to important subjects like Mathematics, Science, English, et cetera, which are far more prominent in building their future. For instance, a community service generally takes a whole day in order to serve the people with their requirements; wasting one complete scheduled day of a pupil. That is why; these aids should not be added in school timetable.

In conclusion, this essay argued why the addition of community services in high school is insignificant. In my opinion, this help is essential for poor people, but it should not be practiced on the sake of the future of present generation.