Some people believe that young people know about international pop and movie stars but know very less about famous people from the history in their own country. Why is this? How can more interest be created in young people to gain more knowledge about their own famous people from history?

Many people argue that is disappointing when students are knowledgeable about celebrities and entertaining products but know nothing about history people. In my opinion, this tendency comes from inappropriate history lessons at schools and can be solved with the coordination of music or film producers.

Stories of history characters have become unattractive to students mostly because they have been not taught correctly at schools. For example, in Vietnam, history lectures only summarize battles and briefly mention few outstanding leaders of the combats in short sentences to help students easily memorize to pass the exams. The personal backgrounds of characters and the history contexts motivating characters to fight are ignored as the teachers do have enough time to talk about. As a result, students cannot see the relation between characters and themselves, between the past and the present. Therefore, students gradually lose their interest in great people in history and stop reading about these people.

Bringing history characters into TV screens or music products is the most effective way to encourage students to learn more about the past people. First, directors and producers can make films about history characters so that students can passively learn history through entertaining. For example, when watching films of royal family fights for the power, students can question about characters if their actions are right or wrong. Second, if stories of royal families are portrayed in a music video, they will draw a tremendous attention of students on history. Students may have to read a lot of the characters-related information to increase their knowledge to discuss the videos with friends.

In conclusion, the curriculum at schools is the main culprit to make students find the history people unattractive. Therefore, history characters should be more strongly depicted on music videos or films so that students can learn about history easily when entertaining.