Some people claim that not enough of wastes from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for the government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people to recycle more of the waste.

It is observed that few households are recycling the wastes that come from their house. Some people suggest that the government should establish laws that will make people to recycle their wastes more. I partially agree that government should promulgate laws and stricter penalties to compel obedience from the people, but also need to increase the level of awareness given to recycling of waste from homes .

It is evident that most households do not take issue of recycling of domestic wastes serious . Therefore, it is necessary for the government to establish laws and penalties to ensure that people treat recycling of wastes with greater importance. For example, the result of the survey conducted by Federal Ministry of Health shows that just measly 15 percent of the total number of households recycled their waste, and also revealed that most households have nonchalant attitude towards it. There is no doubt that introduction of laws and stricter penalties would make people develop positive attitudes towards recycling of garbages from their homes.

Moreover, it is essential for the government to give more awareness to recycling of wastes so that people will not have excuse for not doing it. They need to be sensitized and educated about the need to recycle wastes and the possible impacts that non - recycled wastes could have on the environment. For instance, the same study conducted by Federal Ministry of Health shows that over 35 percent of households claimed that they are completely unaware of recycling of wastes. This is evident that there still low awareness among the people; thus, the government should create programs to enlighten the general public about the needs to recycle wastes and its impact on the environment.

In conclusion, although the government should establish laws and punishment to coerce people to recycle more, more publicity should be given to the recycling of wastes so that people will not have concrete reasons for violating the proposed laws.