Some people feel that the age at which people can marry should be at least 25.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea of committing to marital life only after reaching 25 years of age has gained a lot of momentum among few people. This essay will explain why I completely agree with this thought as a not only a happy marriage demands enormous dedication but also because the education is more imperative at the younger age.

Firstly, owing to the profound importance given to academics in this contemporary world, the years dedicated to acquire tertiary and higher level of education has increased exponentially. This education helps an individual to develop cognitively. For example, a study carried by the magazine 'age UK' revealed that 86% of the youngsters who are above 18 but below 25 are still trying to figure out what they want to do in life. Thereby, these delicate years should be attributed to education rather than taking responsibilities that come with marriage.

Secondly, the level of commitment and the countless sacrifices that are needed to make a marriage work is not a piece of cake and the will to do so conspicuously comes with age. To enunciate, the more a person has seen life, the more experiences are gained, and the better is the ability to endure the hardships of marriage. To exemplify, in the USA, more than 79% of divorce cases are that of very young couples who are not able to make the adjustments to live under a same roof. In other words, post millennial lack high tolerance threshold and hence have little will to keep commitments and to forgo certain things to have a successful marriage.

To reiterate, I believe that adults below age of 25 should be refrained from committing to a marriage as they may not be ready to take the heavy baggage of marital life. Instead this crucial phase of life should better attributed for attaining proper education.