Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Other say that it is important for children to know how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The way children should their leisure time has caused polarization among many people. Few people believe that children should be motivated by their parents to engage in a group activity while others say that children should learn to keep themselves occupied. This essay will examine both side of the arguments and explain why I support the former view.

The supporters of a solo activity advocate that in this hustle and bustle of contemporary life-styles it is imperative for children to be self-engaged as it provides them 'me-time' which is crucial for them to understand themselves. A child can explore himself in many ways by learning to occupy himself in his leisure time. To exemplify, a child may learn to cook on his own in his time-off giving him opportunity to experiment with different ingredients, various cuisines and recipes. Hence, to these supporters spending free time on their own can be rewarding as it results in finding skills they never think they have.

Others, however, myself included highlight that organised and well-structured activities with their peers have numerous benefits. Firstly, despite having difference in opinions, working with other members of a team and coach towards the same goal enhance the tolerance threshold of an individual which blatantly acts as a boon in adult life. Moreover, many group exercises strive to boost the self-confidence and creativity in children. For instance, a group of children asked to draw a painting based on a memory or to recite a monologue in 10 different ways has power to stimulate the brain, and achieving the task enhances self-esteem. Thus, working with other children in spare time can create positive ripples in terms of learning teamworking skills, magnifying the creativity and self-confidence.

To reiterate, although spending spare time without any playmates helps explore a child's interest, in my opinion, having group activities develop skills required to work in a team, intensify creativity and have a conctructive effect on the future.