Some people prefer to provide help and support directly to those in need. Others however prefer to give money to national and international charitable organisations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people would rather not assist the less fortunate through a third party individual or organisation, others would, preferably, grant financial supports to the poor through voluntary organisations. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. This essay agrees that providing assistance to the less privileged without involving anyone will prevent using the resources provided for their personal gain.

First and foremost, rendering one-on-one assistance would reduce embezzlement. This way, the donations, which could be in form of money or goods, will get into the hands of the needy and would not be diverted into family members of the third-party. A recent investigation carried out shows that the 50% of the money giving to the Garrett Home for the poor was found in the founders personal account. For this reason, this essay agrees that direct help should be rendered to people who want it.

One the other hand, anonymous givers would choose to give through charities. This is because they do not like to known in the society and so that they would not be persuaded to give by friends and close acquaintances. Sometimes, they go to far countries just to prevent close families from seeking for their help. This signifies that giving money through charities is has its drawback.

To conclude, even though some people choose to be in face-to-face contact with those they are helping to stop diversion of funds, other would rather give these funds to non-governmental organisations. However, assisting the less privilege directly will ensure they are adequately provided for.