Many people view that playing video games as harmless fun while others believe that video games have a positive effect on players. While I accept that video games affect positively on players in some cases, I partly believe that they are doing more harm to people in general and children in particular.

On the one hand, playing video games boost our creativity, imagination, problem-solving skills, and force us to think quickly. In this case, video games are both educational and entertaining. People can experience such a mysterious, magical world which does not exist in the virtual world, this helps them to unwind, release stress after a hard-working hour or an 8-hour studying at school.

On the other hand, video games set us in a sedentary lifestyle so we can glue our eyes to the screen for several hours. This leads to many problems related to health such as obesity, mental diseases, etc. Furthermore, communicating with others on the Internet for a long time can decrease our ability to have a face to face conversation in real life. Many youngsters are becoming addicted to video games so that they are even not attending school lessons or exam revisions.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of video games are more significant than the possible benefits