Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

With the inception of visualisation, human life has become more entertaining. This visualisation in the form of advertisements is the new strategy adopted by the organisations to sell their products. In order to make their product more tempting, companies put huge amount of their revenue in the campaigns. In the same context, group of people feel that such promotions exploit human psychology and encourages to buy the products which are not meant for them, while another group say that the it educate us which help us in buying appropriate products. I am in the support of former notion as I believe that many of the advertisements on electronic media are not useful.

Admittedly, people buy the new product on the basis of the promotional video on the television and company exploit this.Even the less, many of the information provided on such platforms are fake For an instance, We had seen a lot of Aurvedic products on mobiles and billboards, but actually, they all use chemicals and are harmful for our health. Products launched by Mr Ramdev are silent example of this.

Further more, companies hire celebrities whom they use in their advertisements so that the desired population can be targeted. To substantiate it, Fair and Lovely hire Mr Shah rukh khan as their brand ambassador so that male adolescents can be targeted while on the other hand, same company hire Miss Yami Gautam to target female audience. This make their products more tempting and youth goes to market to purchase them. Apart from that, all the products are tested in labs but the actual results are not shown in such videos.

Having dwelled on such thoughts, it is clear that the advertisements make us to purchase the products which are of no use or may harm us and everyone should do research before buying any products.