Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting event bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and include your opinion, supported by examples.

Throughout the 21st century, plethora of significant global events have happened at different locations. Sports, which is played among nations, is one such event which is becoming extremely popular, especially among the youngsters of the developed nations. Many societies want to host global gaming tournaments as they feel that hosting will help them to increase their revenue while there are others who opine this and feel that plenty of bad aspects will be exploited by the international media, therefore, nation's image will be ruined. Both the opinions are strong, hence should be scrutinised before coming to any conclusion.

Admittedly, hosting multi-national sport tournaments will directly effect the tourism and service industry in positive means. Flow of money in this sector will increase as tourist will spend dollars to get accommodation etcetera. Furthermore, at international levels, currency exchanges will occur at a rapid rate which will help to strengthen the economy of the particular nation. Apart from this, such international games can help to bring peace to the world as their is a lot of tension among the various nations and this can be reduce by the sports. For instance, Russian Prime Minister and American President were seen together discussing about the football during the FIFA World Cup 2018 despite the fact that there is dispute between both the countries.

Since all the security forces pay special attention towards the stadiums and important sites, the rest of cities become vulnerable and a lot of crimes can occur. For instance, reports of theft incidents in Rio during Olympics increased by marginal percentage. Further more, some faux mind people see this as a opportunity for corruption, resulting in the loss of millions. Corruption of Rs2400 crore was reported during Common Wealth Games, 2014 is the prime example. Such incidents were shown by BCC news channel at international levels and the economy went down.

Having dwelled on such thoughts it is clear that pros of hosting sports events are more than cons. Just because of ill-mentality of some people, it will be unfair to give opportunity to other individuals and societies to bring peace to world.