Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern workplaces are changing abruptly as many rules has been changed which were a parameter of success. From such rules, a biggest change is seen in the dress code as organisations allow their workers to wear the suitable clothes. The parameter has been shifted towards the quality of work instead of their formal dress. While I believe that the dress codes are completely irrelevant in some fields, there are other professions in which their uniform have a huge impact and they should continue to wear.

Admittedly, allowing employees to dress casually has reduced in the stress in the offices which directly increased their outputs. This new positive trend has been adopted by many technology giants such as Google, Facebook etcetera as they encourage their employees to dress in their own ways and ask them to produce work of better quality. Work of outstanding quality and global dominance clearly depicts that the strict dress codes are completely irrelevant in the technology sector.

However, there are some other sectors in which dress codes are completely relevant as their uniform has safety or practical function. Certain professionals such as doctors, nurses, police can be seen clearly from the distance due to their dress and they can be approached easily during the situations of emergency. Moreover their are other fields such as school principals, lawyers have an image of diligence and authority. Dressing in the formal attire will help them to portray this image of trustworthiness.

Having dwelled on such thoughts, I support the trend of relaxed dress code for the workers but it is not not applicable in all the occupations or departments.