People think that old buildings should be knocked down and given way to the new buildings. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? how important are old buildings to us?

From our ancestors, we have inherent culture and traditions on which our whole existence is based. Building are part of this culture which, now-a-days, do not interest people anymore. Some school of business advocate that the old buildings should be demolished so that the buildings with the modern architecture can be constructed. Partly, I agree with the former notion, however, the buildings with historical background should be preserved.

Admittedly, the old architectural buildings hold an intrinsic value in our culture. Archeologists are able to understand the culture of the region merely by understanding the way the buildings are constructed. For an illustration, Pyramids constructed in Egypt describe plenty of things about that nation. Apart from that, for any nation, old buildings can promote tourism and establishments can earn plethora of revenue from this industry. 1 million people visiting Taj Mahal in Agra is silent example of this.

However, seismic zones have been changed and intensity of earthquakes has been increased. This change make old buildings unsafer for living and lot of causalities can occur because of this. To substantiate it, in Kolkata, India, 100 people died because of failure of building due to an earthquake which was constructed in 1910. Further more, modern architecture is safer and more attracting. With the pace population is increasing, skyscrapers will be the only option so that basic facility of house can be provided to everyone.

Having dwelled on such thoughts, it is clear that old buildings are unsafe and should be demolished but the ones with emotions must be saved.