Nowadays most people choose to throw away broken things instead of repairing them, and replace them with new ones.

Why is this happening?

What problems may it lead to?

With the advent to technology and globalisation, the lifestyle of people is changing abruptly. Now-a-days, a new trend has seen in which they replace the broken items in their proximity with the new ones. They do not give a single thought to repair as they believe it will be time consuming. This new trend is circulating at faster rate and I believe that this is happening due to economical, social and moral reasons.

Economically, due to industrialisation, prices of things are lowered as compared to last decade and their purchasing power has been increased. For instance, Smartphones were launched with the price of hundred of thousands while now they can be purchased in hundreds only. This drop in price tag helped people to buy more products. Morally, people are disconnected from the other people as well as for their things. They do not have feelings and emotions with the products they own, resultantly, whenever defect occur in such items they immediately replace them with the new models available in the market. Socially, after purchasing new models, they brags about them and maintain their fake images.

Admittedly, this new trends has plethora of secluded effects on our planet. Plenty of products produce harmful rays and their is proper criteria for their disposal, however, this is not followed and are directly exposed to our environment leading to the deterioration of it. Apart from that, in order to make new products, a lot of minerals are digged and during manufacturing water is wasted which is not used again. The results of later are seen clearly as water in Noida is now not fit for drinking without proper treatment.

In retrospection, it is evidently clear that this new trend is not fit for our environment and new rules should be passed so that people adopt to repair the old products.