It is quite truly said that, " First impression is the last impression". Dressing up is like depicting your character, and portraying your personality. Clothes make us the person we are and brings a sense of confidence. Although looks can be deceiving as well. In workplaces, topics related to dressing are like hot potato.

There are some workplaces who follow a strict check on the dress code. On the contrary, some workplaces do not feel the urge for the same. People like salesmen, potters, shop owners are not bound to proper dressing. For example: imagine a milkman riding a bicycle,wearing a tux and carrying milk kettles. How humorous this situation shall be. So, in such cases quality of the work is far inevitable than the clothes worn. The sincerity and the manner in which work is carried out is taken into consideration. The person delivering the service shall be known for the service provided and the manner in which it was done.

However, another important aspect to this topic is the nature of business. Professionals are required to dress up in a particular and respectful manner. Big institutions place prior importance to grooming standards, and issues regular mails and reminders for the same. Doctors, chefs, pilots, army and navy officers, are all seen in their uniforms whenever on duty. They carry themselves with dignity and represent their profession as a whole. These people are never allowed to tamper with their uniforms as it carries a deep meaning.

Hence, I strongly espouse the notion that wherever prominent dress codes should be strictly followed. Afterall, the employee himself has to realise weather his sense of dressing at a particular period is sensible or not.