Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting event bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and include your opinion, supported by examples.

In this era of global connectivity, international sporting events are gaining huge popularity. Many people believe hosting a global sporting event brings many benefits than drawbacks. I find this topic contentious and will elucidate with relevant examples and finally conclude it with my opinion.

First and foremost it a matter of great pride for any country to host a global tournament as it not only provides visibility to the host country on a global map but additionally also brings a plethora of business and employment opportunities. To elucidate further in the recent past many smaller nations like Bangladesh, Singapore and Srilanka hosted major sporting events like football and cricket world cup which aided in creating new jobs in the hospitality sector. Additionally, it also assisted in generating revenue which was further used for the development of that nation. In a recent survey done by Reuters it was mentioned that during the cricket world cup hosted by Srilanka, there was growth in the hospitality sector by 30 per cent.

Secondly on the other hand hosting international sporting events also puts a country under a lot of pressure as the government needs to make sure of the security arrangement for the tourists as well as players from other countries. Since the majority of a Security arrangement is dedicated towards the stadiums and hotels which leaves the other parts of city venerable thus providing an opportunity for crime to happen. Similar problems were seen in Rio Olympics games where the local crime saw a drastic increase during this event. Additionally, in developing nations, some faux mind finds this as the right opportunity to do corruption. In India during the commonwealth games, a corruption of 2000 crores was reported.

To sum up it is evident that though there are some drawbacks for hosting global sporting events but the benefits clearly offset the downside thus, in my opinion, international sporting events brings many advantages which are better for the growth and development of that nation.