Have you ever tried buying one thing in supermarket, end up you spend more than you expected on irrelevant goods when you check out? Advertisement is working in the background, driving you to buy, I believe we all experienced that. The power of advertisement has caused a lot of controversies. Some believe they are extremely successful while others believe that it is overrated as people no long pay attention in those advertisement. I intend to delve into both views and express my own opinion through this essay.

To begin with, it is no doubt that advertisements still prevail in our daily lives. No matter where you are, may it be supermarkets, shopping malls or online stores, you could easily find advertisement everywhere. We are constantly bombarded by tons of them. Like it or not ,it is already an integrated part of commerce. In fact, many companies pouring millions on marketing and advertisement every year, and evidences show that it really help boosting the profit. Therefore, it is not arguable that advertising is an extremely successful tactics at persuading us to buy things, at least all the market reports agree with it.

Whereas at the same time, there is an important player in our brain that complicate the issue- desensitization. As we are overwhelmed by tons of advertisement every moment, our brain will filter the replicated information for us. As a result we pay less attention on each advertisement. Just recall last time you clicked the"Skip" button on Youtube ,do you remember what they were trying to sell? So it is also true to say that we no longer pay attention to it.

To put it all in a nutshell, I shall conclude that advertisement-though not as magical as we expected-still play vital role in our purchase habit. The key is that not all advertisement work, at least the old fashion hard sell style no longer gain our attention. Hence newer form of advertisement is emerging. They are more subtle,yet they are more powerful. For example, more and more companies tend to hire so called'key opinion leader' on internet, they would write blogs or make videos in favor of the products which the content is often brief and the message of advertisement is often well integrated. The new trend is that we do not even have to realize that we are watching advertisement.