Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

Time distribution in education system is not equal for theory and practical. Whereas, Practice and theory both are equally importance in student’s life. This essay agrees that majority of the learning time in school and tertiary education is spent on theories. Practical classes for few subjects in schools, and only limited number of practical class per week support this.

It is a fact that we all have seen in the school that there were practical classes for science and computer subjects only. For instance, there was no practical to show how a mathematics formula is derived or how that formula is useful in real life. All of these points to shortcoming of education system that has less focus on practical.

Looking at university, it is no exception in this case. Though university has practical for most of the subjects, but frequency of the same for a given subject will be always less. For example, when I was to studying engineering, each subjects had only one practical class per week whereas theory for the same subject was taught on daily basis. These demonstrates that, even in higher education also practical have been neglected since long.

Overall this proves that, at all levels of educations practical are either for few handpicked subjects or if at all its there it will be repeated only once a week. It is agreed that “What” and “When” is given more important than “how” for a particular subject. Due to this, learning system will produce students in electronics field without knowing how to fix a bulb, same goes with any field of study. It is recommended that, equal or more focus should be given to learning practical skills, which will empower the students to acquire real world skills.