Some people say that all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree.

A number of people complain that most educational institutions, in all phases of learning, emphasize more on teaching theoretical facts than hands-on practical experience. I completely agree that too much important is devoted to learning facts than practicing skills.

Most of the institutes follow conventional methods of teaching: reading, learning and writing. By this method, students are required to memorize the concepts from the textbooks and lecture notes. Those concepts are synthesizing knowledge that learners can only recall for a limited time and cannot know how to apply in reality. Consequently, many students who have degree in physics cannot even change light bulbs. Moreover, there are too much disciplines that students have to learn, such as 12 subjects for 7th grade or 15 subject for 9th grade. It mean that students’ time is overwhelmed by abundant learning information instead of practicing them.

All level of educations, that is from primary schools to colleges / universities, there are not equal number of theory and practical classes. To illustrate, while I had 10 lectures on chemistry a week, there was only one laboratory session at the same time. Due to improper division, I could not practice everything being taught and therefore could not understand all the concepts. In addition, most institutions are reluctant to invest a large capital for facilities (e.g.: labs) for teaching practical skills in harmony with their number of classes/students. It mean that they cannot spend much time on experimental learning.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that most education institutes spend immense amount of time on teaching theories, less emphasize on practicing skills because of the structure of teaching, perception of learning facts and financial need for facilities for carrying out experiments.