Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

An ideal teaching system consists of bookish as well as practical knowledge. Though practical knowledge is more important than bookish knowledge, the importance of factual knowledge cannot be lessened. Some schools and universities focus more on factual knowledge than practical, which slow down pupils’ speed of learning. However, there are many others which embrace the practical way of learning so that teaching and learning could be fun.

As per the research conducted in recent years, it was concluded that the human brain is more responsive to learning from physical activity than by reading a book. As a matter of fact, children who were learning through practices were able to answer the questions asked instantly in comparison to those who were taught through books.

On the other hand, based on the above discussion it cannot be concluded that learning facts is a complete waste of time. At universities and schools, it’s not always possible to learn every subject through practices. In fact, there are plenty of subjects, for instance; History and Literature, which requires a lot of reading without any other alternatives.

Moreover, I only agree to an extent with the given statement. In my opinion, course structures at teaching institutions are designed by professionals by considering the requirements at the specific levels along with the maturity level of the students. Although they should keep working to include more practical sessions in the overall course structure, course books cannot be ignored at all.

In essence, practical and bookish knowledge go hand on hand. Students won’t be able to practice till the time they have at least basic knowledge of the subject which can be obtained by reading books ultimately. Hence, bookish knowledge is as important as practical knowledge and can be considered of equal significance.