Computer technologies are more accessible and cheaper, as the result, more adults’ work at home and children study at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this era of technological advancements, people are now embracing different technologies more than ever. Nowadays, technology is being used to work from home as well as for study purposes. Even though it is a convenience, it also has harmful effects on people’s lives.

Firstly, many organizations around the world provide the facility to their officials to work from home. The intention behind providing such a facility is to encourage workers to work more efficiently and productively from home. However, it may not always be the case as many of them just log into their computers and watch television. Apart from that, working from home makes workers lazy and physical inactivity leads to health conditions such as obesity and heart diseases.

Next, even though computers and online classes can be used to study from home, it lacks actual human interaction. For instance, a student can ask a question directly to a teacher in a classroom but while taking a class online he may have to wait at the end of the lesson or type a question that may be ignored. Hence, technology can be used for learning purposes but it cannot be an alternative to the classrooms.

Lastly, technology can still be used in an effective way when natural calamities take place and people are trapped in their houses. Computers and other gadgets may come handy in these situations and can be used to finish a lesson or work from home.

In essence, different technologies have become a part of people’s lives and their significance cannot be ruled out. However, while attending classes or working; human interaction is one of the most crucial factors, which cannot be avoided either. In my opinion, technology should be used to make people more efficient rather than to be used as a luxury.