Education experts are often seen as criticising the contemporary education system. It is often said that educational institutions such as schools, colleges or even universities exert considerable efforts inculcating theoretical knowledge to the students with little or no focus on skill sets needed in practical life. In my opinion, I agree that the curriculums from junior level until the high school are more focussed on teaching facts and figures but the same is not true for higher education.

First of all, the syllabus at montessori, primary, elementary and high school level dates back to the time bookish knowledge was highly desirable in learners . Regrettably, Education Ministry and Board who are supposed to govern these matters, pay no attention to the timely revision of study materials and teaching methods at school level. As a result, the purpose of the first 12 years of education has become imparting a set pattern of book knowledge onto the minds of young ones. Clearly, due to lack of interest of regulatory bodies, teaching resources required to establish and nurture the skills of practical significance are often ignored at this level.

However, the purpose of tertiary education is to enrich students knowledge as well as prepare them well for a professional working environment. Therefore, courses offered by such institutions are hybrid in nature, having a blend of theoretical knowledge and its practical implications. Moreover, universities are not allowed to award degrees unless candidates write a thesis on real world scenario and complete a mandatory internship or apprenticeship in their field of study. Undoubtedly, university graduates are ready to enter the professional world.

Having discussed the matter in detail, I assert that education at junior level is more centered on gaining knowledge by memorising facts and figures; however, those who qualify from the tertiary schools are not only technically sound but have the necessary practical skills.