Some people say that artists such as painters, writers and musicians affect our life more than scientists. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your experience. (Hong Kong - April 2018)

Different mankind roles have significant contributions to the society and its well-being. Some claim that the influence of artists is of greater importance than the work of scientists. However, I completely disagree with this belief and think that scientific discoveries have equal emphasis on the survival of human beings as that of theater and literature.

Proponents of arts support it because of several merits to the lives of people. One such merit is the encouragement and entertainment that musicians and writers bring to our life. To exemplify, many people face depression and stress-related problems and to overcome these problems, they read inspirational books and listen to music that reduce their mental stress and make them happy and rejuvenated. Another social advantage is that the painters and singers are look up to by young adults who have a passion to paint and sing. To illustrate, children who have a talent for painting and writing can make a career in these fields by following the artists rather than be forced to take up corporate or government jobs.

Though music and novels have their positive impact on individuals, the role of science in the growth and development of a person cannot be neglected. Firstly, the inventions of the medical science play a major part in the health sector. For instance, the vaccines that are discovered by scientists and medical practitioners have aided in preventing people from many diseases like polio and cholera. Secondly, the findings of physicists have improved people's knowledge of the fundamentals of the natural world. In other words, the discovery of the gravitational law and substance nature of day to day use materials have huge effects on the survival of human race.

To recapitulate, despite the cultural and social impact of painters,writers and musicians on the community, I do not agree that they dominate the contribution of the science experts and believe that science technologists have form the foundation for many major areas such as nuclear theories .