Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued by some that increase in the sports facilities like gymnasiums, basketball courts and swimming pool within our society will lead to improvement in public health however there are others who believe that provision of such extracurricular sports facilities will have no effect on public health and other steps are necessary. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and will elucidate how measures like health education and implication of heavy taxes on processed foods can lead to improvement in public health.

Firstly as is evident in many countries that there are plenty of sports facilities available for people to work out and remains fit not only in their communities but also at their offices however it is often noticed even after following a rigorous workout schedule many people are not able to improve their health due to consumption of junk food thus affecting their health severely. In a recent survey done by London University on public health safety it was published that increase in sports facilities in United Kingdom has led to decline in public health as majority of people consumed processed foods and avoided healthier diets.

On the other hand, spreading awareness about the healthy diet is a much-needed thing and making people aware of the dangers of processed foods. Many people are unaware of the fact that how much harm they are doing by consuming junk food. For instance as per the recent survey done by Fortis hospital globally it was published that around 70 percent of people who suffered from obesity were due to lack of knowledge about healthy diet and consumption of junk food therefore awareness by conduction of public health sessions and implications of heavy fines by federal bodies on processed foods are mandatory for increase in public health standards. In a recent survey many governments in developed nations are taking public health initiatives by organizing health awareness camps which discuss on daily life eating habits and how such habits can improve health even without exercise. In countries like Singapore the government has banned many processed food items which contains certain preservatives which can have a severe impact on one’s health thus making our society healthier.

To conclude in my opinion instead of introducing an enormous number of health centres which may impact the public health, the authorities should create awareness among the masses and a complete ban on fast foods.