Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking as has been scientifically proven can have a devastating effect on the health of the human being. Therefore many people believe that smoking should be banned in public places as it not only affects the health of smoker but non-smoker as well. I staunchly agree with this statement and opine that smoking should be completely banned as it has strong ramifications on the health of individuals as well the environment. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate with relevant examples and conclude.

Firstly cigarette has large amounts of carcinogenic components which is the root cause for creating health problems. As has been proven by medical science carcinogenic components can cause deadly diseases like lung cancer, throat cancer and respiratory problems which can affect not only the smoker but nearby people too. Although the risk of developing such problems for a non-smoker is minimal however there are still some cases in which non-smokers health has been affected. For instance in India as per the recent survey conducted by the World Health Organization, it has been reported that around 30% of non-smokers have developed respiratory problems from smoking. Lastly, young people are more affected when they see people smoking in the public places as they tend to pick up the habit of smoking easily at a tender age which further has a detrimental effect on their health in the near future.

Additionally, smoking not only adds air pollution but tobacco waste can be found in public places which further pollutes the environment. The effects can be seen near most of the gardens and public gathering places in India as reported by a leading newspaper where piles of garbage proliferation from tobacco products and smoking buds can be found hence affecting the environment.

To conclude it can be seen from the above arguments that smoking causes both health problems as well as environmental hazards hence, in my opinion, it should be completely banned from public places.