Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end workld poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is causing damage to the environment and should be stopped now. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether or not economic growth is the only means of counteracting issues of poverty and hunger has always been a matter of serious debates. Some people, including me, me included, as well as me, are strongly in favour, whereas others tend to contradict them. The idea provokes strong arguments, which will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, economic growth, beyond doubt, inevitably leads to more working places engendered for employees of various professional levels. For instance, the recent emergence of such services as online food and taxi facilities has generated immerse demand for drivers and even couriers, which seems to be a tremendous mitigation of the problem. Secondly, strong economies and prosperous countries, in general, seem to be able to provide better care for those in need. For example, having extra fund enables countries to arrange special shelters for the homeless and free meal to counteract shortage of food. Finally, being a result of economic growth, modern agricultural technology, including innovative fertilizers and smart irrigation systems, appears to be able to significantly decrease prices for fruits and vegetables, thereby rendering such products more accessible for people on a low income.

On the other hand, however modern technology may be called this day, its serious reliance on energy and, in turn, on fossil fuel often leads to serious environmental problems. Carbon emissions, which are inevitable burning coal or petrol, and vast landfills are all gruesome realities of the contemporary world. Furthermore, growing automation of work people used to do by hand may reduce job opportunities for the most vulnerable employees. Competing with robots is becoming more and more difficult and, in the long term, can exacerbate the problem even further.

All in all, although the detrimental effect on the environment seems to be possible negative outcome of economic growth, I would claim that it is rather tractable and, in the face of such serious problems as poverty and hunger, it might be even deemed incidental.