Some people say that the education system is the only critical factor in the development of a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people believe that teaching is the most crucial factor in the over all growth of an economy. The issue is not entirely straightforward, although some argument can also be made against the idea. In this essay, the debate will be discussed, and given a concluding view.

On the one hand proponents of education system cite various benefit, it can bring to the economy. Firstly, High number of graduates especially master degree and above level, can have plethora of job opportunities available to them. This gives the chance to individuals to choose and decide the industry they want to work in. Therefore, these factors assist to improve the economic conditions of the country. For instance, a recent study by IMF shows that 50% of Individuals income has a direct co-relation with the GDP (Gross Domestic Product) of the economy. Secondly, better income can be a aid to improve the standard of living of people. Income can cause an increase in the demand of consumer goods which not only create fierce competition but can allow the companies to cater the needs of the people as well.

Conversely, opponents feel that education is not the only significant factor in the overall development of an economy due to several reasons. Firstly, Many educated individuals hold no prior experience in the industry, they are currently working in. Secondly, companies have to put these employees on a training period of about 18 months, although these cases can be found in organizations like Wipro etc.. For instance Apple Inc. was started by a man with less educational background with no work experience named Steve Jobs who dropped out of high school.

In conclusion, it seems reasonable to have the rudimentary knowledge of education to interact and survive along with a good work experience in the area of industry they work, which can eventually help the economy to grow.