Some people say that giving a smaller amount of money weekly to children will help them become more capable as they grow older.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is common that many parents today offer nominal sums of money to their children weekly. Some people assert that this method of financial gifting would develop certain independent skills required for children in the long run. I personally agree that this would make children more capable and skilled in money management as they grow older for various reasons but would possess some dangers that cannot be ignored.

To begin with, one of the major advantages of this practice is the accomplishment of the knowledge about money management in childhood. Moreover, it is a fact that childhood is the formative period of life. Therefore, if children are taught such skills, certainly that would strengthen their ability to confront with various skills and tribulations in the long run. Another merit of this act is that this money could be used for their personal needs especially in emergency situations. To cite an example, children can effectively manage incidences like the unexpected cancellation of the public transport and strikes and so on. Besides, the habit of saving can be cultivated and parents can keep them happy and satisfied and thereby strengthen the family bonds.

On the other hand, it can be noticed that children are just agile and fun-loving in nature, who are not always physically and mentally matured enough to take informed decisions about money. These youngsters, who are tender-minded, could use this money for various purposes such as smoking, drug addiction and for amazing latest trendy gadgets. The result would be even more disastrous as it would surge the number of crimes in the society. To cite an example, many evil minded people could take it as a source of revenue by cheating and harming the vulnerable children for the money.

In conclusion, I believe that though weekly allowance by parents to children has some positive sides, the negative aspect of this practice is much less rosy than many people think it is.