Some people say that government should build sport facilities for professional athletes. Others believe that such facilities should be open to everyone. Discuss both views with your opinion.

In recent years, there is a general concern about health and how to improve it. Although there is a part of the society requesting state-of-the-art amenities for élite athletes, some others argue that such facilities should be available for the public as well. Notwithstanding that I agree that using the taxes to build high performance sports facilities for athletes is a profit for the country, I cannot ignore that all those taxes have being paid for the citizens, and subsequently they have the right to use it. In this essay I would like to account for both perspectives with my standpoint.

On the one hand, I believe that spend the government budget in building sport centers for professional sportsperson is necessary for a strong and healthier population. Providing basic services, such as sport complexes, hospitals, roads and schools, helps to determine quality of life that most citizens will have. For instance, a survey prepared by the Olympic committee, display that nations that invert in sports have in average a 35% higher performance in the games comparing with others. Consequently, people see those athletes as role models to be followed, and this increase the general wellness.

On the other hand, that those sports centers can only be used by high performers and not for amateurs and taxpayers is not the correct decision. Moreover, recent research from the University of Madrid shows that there is a relation between the money that countries spend in sport programs and the reduction in health and care services. In fact, the government of Canada for instance, saved in 2018 a 15% on medical treatments related with elderly. Therefore, it is a profitable investment for governments.

In conclusion, there is a general benefit in bring to life those technological advance amenities, for sport players and non-professionals and in guarantee public investments in those activities. From my point of view, I am totally agreed with the second statement because using those resources will improve the collective wellness.