Today large shopping center and supermarkets are more common than small local shops. Is this a negative or positive development?

Nowadays there is a trend in using Mall and Supermarkets instead of buying in traditional small business like close convenience stores in suburbs. This tendency is leading to both, negative and positive outcomes.

Although that some people love to wandering around the city center and buy goods in different shops, due to the new lifestyle, daily stress, and working hours, people cannot spend much time in shopping. It is really useful to have a place where you can find all the articles in just one establishment. Then using a short time you can get all what you need and use your valuable time for something else. In addition, the price is quite cheap because they can deal with producers and buy a large amount of products at a better price.

There is some inconvenient in this business model, like the impact in the small locals entrepreneurs. They do not have the same resources that a multinational and the products that they sell are expensive. The way that they use to attract customers is by offering high quality merchandise and personal treat. But as the public in general is more interested in save some money and time, which become a disadvantage. Numerous small shops are being closed and all those profits are in big company's hands, instead of stay in the town.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages in this modern industry, and it is creating a new model of monopoly between a few companies that is beneficial for personal economy, but catastrophic for local wealth.