Wildlife attracts more attention from the public, and the government allocated a vast amount of fund to protect wild animals and birds. However, some people claim that money should be utilised for human development while others do not. This essay will elaborate on why people should spend moderate money on wildlife conservation.

It is true that human being is superior to animals and therefore it seems reasonable for the public to pay more attention to improve human’s living standard. But it is a one-sided view and ignored the value of wildlife. Protecting wildlife could be a long-term strategic measure to keep eco-system balance which could benefit the public in the long run.

Firstly, wild birds and animals can exert positive impacts on the environment and the public. For example, some wild birds that feed on insects could help to protect the grains from being destroyed by pests. Therefore, the decline in the number of these birds may bring economic loss to farmers. What is worse is that the death of wildlife can cause deterioration of the ecological environment. People in regions are playing a price for this, as illustrated by disastrous consequences such as the extreme weather and sand storms.

Secondly, wildlife also plays a significant role in different cultures. Many wild animals actually represent the cultural backstage of the community. Certain animals are even associated with particular gods and goodness and are often symbolic of a deity’s power. For instance, the cow is revered as the mother in Hindus and therefore, holds a critical value. Which in turn says, protecting wildlife could sometimes equal to the protection of belief.

This essay had discussed the value of the wildlife, and it could build down to three aspects: cost saving, ecological balance, and representation of a particular culture. Thus, I suggest people not to abolish the funding for protecting wild animals.