Nowadays, some people have the notion that the government should subsidize fruits and vegetables in other to make healthy foods cheap, while others are saying that unhealthy foods should be taxed.

On one hand, the government’s effort to make healthy foods cheaper is a very good development. Fruits and vegetables resuscitates the organs in the body, and it aids in the good health of an individual because of the quality of life it brings to the person. By making the prices of fruits and vegetables cheap, it is now expedient for everyone to add this class of food to their daily diets while making attempts to live and eat healthy. In addition, the fruit juice factories will also benefit and take advantage of this reduction in price once the government takes its action on the matter. If the government reduces the prices of these foodstuffs, then it will be a great achievement for the society. Health is wealth!

On the other hand, some people are saying that unhealthy foods should be taxed by the government. By this, the purchase of foods such as, sugary drinks and other unhealthy edibles will reduce drastically. In Nigeria, there won’t be reduction in alcohol intake until this tax comes into play. Junk foods make great contribution to obesity, yet people still want to have a bite after hearing that it is not good health-wise. It is of essence that unhealthy foods undergo taxation, so that the people can maintain a healthy eating lifestyle which has been made cheaper by the authorities.

To conclude, my opinion regarding the discussions above is simple. Subsidizing healthy foods will make it affordable for the public which in turn contributes to their well being while putting tax on unhealthy foods will help in curbing it and making it not very affordable to purchase. I have made my opinion because I feel it’s the right path to take.