Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Discuss both view and give your opinion.

For years, there have been a debate to as which subject is more important in schools. Some are of the opinion that history is the most vital subjects in schools, while a few other believe that subjects like science and technology are of paramount importance in modern society. This essay will discuss both sides of this contentious matter and at the end I will give my viewpoint on this conundrum.

Firstly, studying history in schools is important because it allows us to understand our past, which in turns allows us to understand our present. If we want to know how and why our world is the way it is today, we have to look to history for answers. “People often say history repeats itself” but if we study the successes and failure of the past we may, ideally, be able to learn from our mistakes and avoid repeating them in the future. Secondly, studying history in schools can provide us with insight into our culture of origin as well as other cultures with which we might be less familiar with, thereby increasing cross-cultural awareness and understanding.

On the other hand, science is everywhere. Teaching scientific methods to students is teaching them how to think, learn, solve problems and make informed decision. Science and technology are closely associated with our lives, they are closely linked aspects of the society and the studies and developments in both these field are essential for the overall progress of mankind. The importance of science and technology lies in its manifold benefits to the society. Science and technology has revolutionized human life in today’s scientifically and technologically advanced world, people need to be scientifically literate to succeed in this modern world. Hence, teaching science and technology related subjects in schools helps prepare students and make them a more productive member if the society, because this skills are very important and integral to every aspect of life and fundamental in modern contemporary society.

In conclusion, after carefully analyzing both sides of this topic. I believe that science and technology subjects are of paramount importance that history, because the world is technologically advanced and one need skills in science and technology to succeed in todays society.