Some people say that holding sport competitions cause many troubles, others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Hosting sport competitions is believed to be expensive and troublesome by some segment of the society, whereas others believe that the benefits are more fruitful. In my opinion, although hosting world-class sport competitions is quite challenging, and even might bring troubles for the host, but they have more valuable consequences attached to it.

Hosting world-class sports events like the Olympics, Cricket World-cup tournament showcase the best sportsmanship to the spectators along with a unified national sentiment for the host country and the national team arises. On top of that, these events are attended by people from the host and the participant countries, thus generating huge revenue for the authority and promoting tourism and increase in demand for consumer products and services. For instance, during the World cup event in India, nationals from many foreign countries such as New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Pakistan had also attended the event along with the major Indian spectators.

On the contrary, hosting big sports events are undeniably cumbersome, even perilous since it is a huge responsibility for the hosts and they will be held responsible for any predicament caused during the event. Moreover, building new hotels, upgrading airports and extension of the rail transport system is very expensive and has a lot of uncertainty relating to the magnitude and timing of the benefits. Even the public sentiment might be affected caused by the traffic jams and inconvenience faced by them. However, these consequences can be overlooked if the host team or country is benefitted from the event.

In conclusion, hosting of sports event unifies the national sentiment and benefits the host country economically. While, it might be quite expensive and troublesome, but the outcomes such as growth in tourism, increase in demand for consumer products and services have long term growth for the country.