Some people say that international sporting events contribute greatly to peace and stability in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In todays world of crime and terrorism, events like international sports will help to bring the countries in harmony and spread the message of peace and love among the countries. The advantages the countries will have will be discussed further in this essay.

To embark on, sports played at an international level among the countries will help in building a healthy competition among them. They will play with each other with a positive spirit. This helps to build a feeling of brotherhood among the people of different countries. For example, India and Pakistan though have a lot of tension at the borders, but the friendly cricket match between them helps in bringing peace and harmony as well as it serves as a binding factor with in them.

Moreover, international sporting events helps to bring all the countries together playing for the fame of their respective countries. For example, events like Olympic games, commonwealth games help to bring sportsmen of various countries and contribute to the popularity of their country. For example, people from places like west indies which is hardly to locate when represent their countries on international events helps in the global recognition of their countries. It also generates a feeling of patriotism among citizens when they win the gold medal for their country, their national anthem is played and their country flag is hoisted. Everyone gives a standing ovation to that country.

To conclude, I completely agree with the opinion that Sports played at International level helps in easing tensions between countries and helps to spread the message of tolerance, peace, and brotherhood.