Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is increasingly common nowadays for people to spend a major portion of their time and resources on their wardrobe selection. Many people argue that the outer appearance of a person reflect a lot about one's background and personality. In my opinion, the choice of clothing encompasses a good portion of a person's life and therefore I believe that it is decisive in contemplating about his or her culture and overall character because nations around the world portray their culture by adopting a unified appearance on special occasions and that the outlook of a person signals a lot about a his or her character.

Firstly, for centuries, the nations have been engaging in celebrating their cultural events using a foundation of underlined principles. One of those principles require their community to adopt a certain clothing style which distinguishes their culture from another. For example, every year muslims all around the world wear a pair of white clothing to mark the start of their festival where everyone celebrates the completion of one month of fasting. Furthermore, in India, people wear a special linen in orange color to celebrate the birth of their Gods. For these reasons, the choice of clothing is paramount in telling a lot about a person's background and culture.

Secondly, the character of a person is very evident from a person's personality these days. The nature of clothing preferred by a person could reflect many things about his traits and preferences. For example, workplaces nowadays mandate their employees to adopt a professional outlook by wearing a strict formal clothing which indicates a person's discipline and commitment to his daily routine. Similarly, people with torn and loose clothing could give away a sense of laziness to people around them. Therefore, a person's character is evident from their wardrobe selection.

To conclude, I agree that a person's outer appearance is paramount in capturing one's background and personal character because people carry with them a sense of their culture which is evident from their clothing and that it also tells a lot about his or her character as people with certain lifestyle choices adopt a certain appearance which distinguish them from the others.