Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

It is increasingly common for people nowadays to plan their vacations in extreme places where life conditions are intricate. This essay will discuss the merits and drawbacks of visiting such places by the tourists.

One of the main benefits that allow people to visit such extreme places where survival is difficult is to feel the satisfaction that one feels after achieving an impossible feat or a challenge. We live in a society where majority of the people have steady and monotonous jobs which are, at times, non-challenging and therefore people are constantly seeking new purposes in life. Challenges of visiting extreme places give people a sense of purpose in life and allow them to feel the gratification after achieving it. Further, visiting such places also enable some people to get some fame in their life. For example, people who go to Mount Everest or Amazon quite get famous after going through an impossible series of challenges which makes them popular among their community and sometimes in the world.

However, there are quite serious drawbacks of visiting places with such harshful survival conditions. At first, there is a lot of preparation and training that one has to go through before embarking on their difficult journey which require an extensive amount of time and commitment. That means leaving less time for the other important aspects in their life like jobs and families. Further, these places have extreme weather and environmental conditions which render the human survival quite difficult. In some cases, serious injuries could occur to the tourists which may result in permanent disability or even death. For instance, there have been incidents in last year, as per National Geographic, where people have died while climbing Mount Everest and K-2 Peak. It has also been reported that some people died in the Amazon during animal attacks.

In conclusion, there are some merits of going through such difficult expeditions where people can achieve a true sense out of their life and increase their popularity; while at the same time there are some drawbacks of going to such extreme places as it requires a lot of time and preparation and may result in disability or death due to harshful surrounding conditions.