Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes. 10.47

Do you agree or disagree?

It is opined by some people, that the cultural background and moral qualities of an individual can be determined by his or her attire. I strongly disagree with this belief because the changing fashion trends and intangibility of the character, are reasons to not to judge a person by the appearance.

First and foremost reason is that fashion keeps evolving. Nowadays, not only do people avoid wearing just one style of dress but also they keep upgrading clothes and accessories, as per the latest trends. Moreover, the monotony of wearing a culture inspired outfit has inspired people to try clothes from different cultures and regions. A great example to support this is that the wardrobes of people from the eastern part of the world are piled with western influenced outfits. It goes without saying that globalization has played a huge role in changing dress sense, therefore, a person's culture cannot be judged by their clothing.

Another point to consider is that the character is an inner quality. This intangible behavior should not be perceived by outer tangible clothes. There is ample evidence to suggest that a person's moral quality is influenced by the upbringing, education and the respect they pay to others and not by their outfit. For illustration, a beachwear endorsing model could also be a loyal wife, loving mother, and a caring daughter. Thus, making the perception of someone based on their choice of clothes is unfair.

To recapitulate, determining a person's background and values according to the apparel is not justified and consequently, the society should never judge a book by its cover.