Cricket has become more popular than the national sports in the sub-continental countries.

What do you think are the reasons behind this?

In the sub-continent nations, national games are less famous when compared to cricket. Once introduced by the Britishers, cricket has become the most played and followed the sport. I opine that the primary reasons for its widespread are the financial attractiveness and the inspiration from the pioneers of this sport. Consequently, it is comparatively attractive than a country's own national sport.

To begin with, the amount of money a person can earn is reasoned to be the most impactful consideration when choosing cricket as a career. In other words, sound financial health is a priority for all of the aspiring youth, as it secures the future and takes care of the daily expenses, therefore resulting in a comfortable life. An interesting example of this is, famous batsmen Virat Kohli, who is also a synonym for the youth icon in India is Asia's wealthiest sportsperson according to the Forbes magazine because of his earnings via the game and the brand endorsements, advertisements he does. It goes without saying that the popularity of the sport is definitely due to the economic benefit it generates.

Another point to consider is that aspiring players are usually inspired by some legends of the game. To elaborate, successful batsmen and bowlers become idols for people, which in turn converts them either into a fan or a prospective player. To illustrate, Sachin Tendulkar a former player of the Indian cricket team is worshiped by some, moreover, it is unbelievable that he also has a temple and a museum dedicated to him. Hence, people love to follow the game as they get starstruck by these legends.

To recapitulate, the attractive earnings and inspiration received from famous cricketing personalities are two of the various causes of the mass reach and craziness of this game, over other national sports in the sub-continent. A person is not only attracted by the richness of the players but also, the inspiration given by a master of this sport. Additionally, in some countries, cricket is not just a sport, but also a religion.