News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

It is argued by some that the images presented alongside current headlines in newspapers and on the news channels are comparatively more significant than the text. The importance of literature cannot be undermined by the pictures, which undoubtedly complement the main story. Thus, it is safe to disregard the belief that visual content is more effective than verbal communication, on the other hand, words in a news report bring meaning and make headlines interesting.

The primary function of words to a news report is to give meaning and connect with the audience. The language used makes it possible for a news reader or viewer to understand the point presented. For instance, an image of a burning skyscraper alone can never transmit the intended message to the receiver consequently, it might create a dilemma that the charring building is caused by a terrorist attack, electrical short circuit etc., using pictures alone is ambiguous. Therefore, effective communication of an event or incident is only possible with the use of words.

Texts in a news report on TV or an article in the paper make the headlines interesting. The viewers and readers are often glued to the screens because of the curiosity created by the few words. For illustration, a catchy line often attracts a person, creates a curiosity to know more and ultimately results in the sale of that particular newspaper. Furthermore, according to research, avid readers and researchers are often interested in reading or listening to the content rather than watching the accompanying visuals.

To conclude, the thought that pictures are more effective than words is not acceptable, moreover, in my opinion, the language used in a news is the best way to transfer the message. Despite, pictures can act as a support to the main story, however, they can never be compared to the meaning and entrancing element words add to a TV or newspaper story.